Student Forum, Gopher Yearbook 1935

These students were members of the Student Forum in 1935. They were the organization that chose speakers to be invited to campus to speak about the important issues of the time. A third of their names were found on Ray Chase’s lists of radical students, many with comments about their activism, their parents’ names and addresses, and their political attitudes. Their names were Lester Breslow, Sherman Dryer, Helen Grant, Robert Loevinger, Richard Scammon, Frderick Rarig, and Gertrude Lippincott.

Chase’s annotated list of the 1935 Student Forum speakers noted that the group was dominated by “liberals,” which is why he kept track of them.

Many of the male students were part of the Jacobins, the group most committed to student activism around ending required on-campus military drills. These students often challenged Dean Edward Nicholson’s power over student life and were in conflict with him.

Dean Nicholson supervised the Student Forum and likely was the source of information about these students to Chase.

CreatorUniversity of MinnesotaSourceUniversity of Minnesota Archives, Gopher Yearbook, vol. 38, 1935, p. 247Date01/05/1935RightsImage is available courtesy the University of Minnesota Archives. For additional information about the use or re-use of this image please contact the University of Minnesota Archives at Period1930s